Newly Configured Board Named, Meets January 11th

New Board of Trustees Together

On an icy Wednesday morning, January 11, 2017, trustees representing synods from the Mid-Atlantic (ELCA Region 8) and Northeast (ELCA Region 7) gathered for the first time, fulfilling business for the last six months of the school as Gettysburg Seminary and governing the forward navigation for United Lutheran Seminary. Following a brief orientation for new board members, the governance group adopted a committee structure with four committees and its executive committee. Later in the meeting the board elected its first slate of officers, with the Rev. Dr. Elise Brown to serve as Board Chair, Ms. Cheryl Williams as Vice Chair, the Rev. Cheryl Meinschein as Secretary, and Mr. Paul Wangerin in the role of Treasurer. The Rev. John Richter, who has chaired the LTSP board, was asked by the Transition Team to chair the inaugural meeting of this board because of the need to elect officers.

The first meeting of the newly configured Board of Trustees addressed a full agenda of business ranging from the approval of curricular design to the adoption of parameters for future employees of United Lutheran Seminary. Members of the newly configured board include

  • The Rev. Peter BOEHRINGER
  • The Rev. Dr. J. Elise BROWN*
  • Bishop Claire BURKAT
  • Bishop James DUNLOP
  • The Rev. Julie FRASER
  • Mr. Robert KING
  • Dr. James LAKSO
  • The Rev. Lisa LEBER
  • The Rev. Cheryl MEINSCHEIN #
  • The Rev. Charles MILLER
  • Ms. Nancy Dering MOCK
  • Mr. Chris MONDICS
  • Dr. Janet MONTELARO
  • The Rev. Audrey E. MOODY
  • Ms. Emma PORTER
  • Mr. Fred RISSER
  • Dr. Tommie ROBINSON Jr.
  • Mr. David A. RUSSELL
  • Mr. Paul WANGERIN +
  • Ms Cheryl WILLIAMS **

* designates current chair of the board
** vice chairperson
+   treasurer
#   secretary